Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » HELP ..HELP..!!Oracle upgrade from 8i to 10g
HELP ..HELP..!!Oracle upgrade from 8i to 10g [message #296124] Thu, 24 January 2008 14:02 Go to next message
oracle1281
I'm new to oracle development and this is my first project. Embarassed Confused

I need to know that if we are upgrading from 8i to 10g without adding any new features.then what are all the things we need to look for in database side(as developers),and in asp code.

also what should we look for in VB code and COM objects and DLL's
also there is a lot of code in c# (in a .net based newer application which is already in 10g but has close dependencies and database links going to other applications which are in 8i)

Please guide through the steps .

Thanks in advance

[Updated on: Thu, 24 January 2008 14:07]

Report message to a moderator

Re: HELP ..HELP..!!Oracle upgrade from 8i to 10g [message #296156 is a reply to message #296124] Thu, 24 January 2008 22:00 Go to previous messageGo to next message
mkbhati

A full volume can be written in answer to your question. Please read upgrade guide of your target version as a best point of start. No other documents can cover the upgrade topic as vastly as platform specific upgrade guides from Oracle which are part of your oracle media. Also do not disturb your production system until you have tested entire upgrade process on a staging server, Its better to be safe than sorry later when you have messed up everything.
And yes, if you have any technical queries during your upgrade process please do post them in this forum, members will be happy to help you.

Regards

Manjit Kumar[mkbhati]
Re: HELP ..HELP..!!Oracle upgrade from 8i to 10g [message #296645 is a reply to message #296156] Mon, 28 January 2008 08:48 Go to previous messageGo to next message
oracle1281
Thanks for your reply

I have gone through the upgrade guide but I still have some doubts about the upgrade proceedure for applacations.